First World Problems #1: “…But I didn’t want brunch!”

So, we finally tried “The Wren”.  It’s been well-received by the neighbourhood and we have been sweetly anticipating trying it.  It so happened that today happened to be a good day to head over there and try the grubs.  I had a running stream of beef brisket images running through my head. My mouth was metaphorically watering.

But…

I should have taken the weather as an omen.  It’s raining and blustery cold, and we literally turned back home to get the car (we were going to walk to the restaurant, but it was too wet and cold, despite our raincoats).

We got there, and it was brunch.  I like brunch.  Brunch is a friend.  But when I left the house, I was having beef brisket daydreams.  It was cold and rainy and I wanted comfort meat, not eggs.  I know this is my fault and I should have checked.  But it’s a country-southern-bar place.  They’re not supposed to have brunch.

So, I had the eggs.  I could have had real food, but for some reason, I opted for the Huevos Gringos.  So really it was my fault.

The thing is, the place itself was great.  Reclaimed barn wood and exposed brick on the wall, great customer service, great music.  It’s cool in there.  I just didn’t want brunch, so they it better have been the best mexican-inspired breakfast I have ever had.  It wasn’t.  It was bland, and when served with croissant, kinda weird.  I ordered the caesar, since I read somewhere that I should order it, and I hated it.  To me, it tasted like cold curry.  Don’t like.  Then, we had said no dessert, but the server sold me on the Cinnamon Bun Cheesecake.

Cinnamon Bun Cheesecake.

I mean, come on… who can say no to that?

It was a tiny sliver of a too-sweet thing, for like $4 or something like that.  I couldn’t find the cheesecake part.  Where was the cheesecake.  And why was the sugar assaulting my mouth.

So now I’m grumpy.

But…

I need to give the regular menu a try before giving a proper review.

Because everyone else who has been raved about the food.  Because the husband loved his Polenta with Jalapeno Peppers.

In the meantime, I’ll sit here and grumble.

*grumble grumble*

Leave a Reply

