Visiting a Shipwreck in Oregon (and why travel bloggers are my enablers)

I love trip planning, but I cannot do it without the thriving and diverse online community of travel bloggers. They have not only fed my wanderlust, but the diverse voices out there allows me to find our “people”, and find out what they have seen and experienced.  I can pick our next adventure, and be able to find like-minded folks who have generously shared their epiphanies, and just as importantly, their itineraries and food-gasms.

I wax poetic, because it’s 6:30 on a Sunday morning and I am up as usual, and about to write a blog about our time when we hung out with a beached shipwreck on one of the most breath-taking beaches I have ever had the luck to have been on, and I wouldn’t have known to do so, if it wasn’t for the wealth of wanderlusters’ voices online.

Fort Stevens Statepark in Hammond OregonFrom our Cannon Beach perch, we headed north to Fort Stevens State Park in Warrenton, Oregon (just southwest of Astoria).  This was officially the northernmost point that we have ever been off the Pacific Coast Highway.  From this point, we will meander on southward to the point where we stopped off 2 years ago when we made the northward trek from San Diego to Northern California. However, this was not the only reason that we are here.

We have come to marvel at the shipwreck of Peter Iredale, named after its owner, that has been on the back of Fort Stevens State Park since 1906.  A shipwreck, which miraculously, everyone involved survived.

shipwreck - close up

The Peter Iredale was a four-masted steel barque sailing vessel that ran ashore on the Oregon coast en route to the Columbia River. [so says Wikipedia]

shipwreck - close up-3shipwreck - close up-4

As captivating as the Peter Iredale story is, it was the beach itself, in this state park, that I was most affected by.  I can still see, smell, and hear it, when I close my eyes.  It is vast.  I have never seen coast like it.  It really reminds you how vast the planet is, and how small we actually are.  It is also blissfully empty of tourists (either than R and I, of course).  I wax poetic yet again, because that’s what this piece of coastline made me feel… poetic, pensive and in awe.

fort stevens park beach

See that tiny speck (left-middle on the photo)? That’s the Peter Iredale. This coast went on for miles…

fort stevens park beachfort stevens park beachfort stevens park beach

A beach all to ourselves...

One of the simple pleasures of travelling is meeting new people and hearing their stories (and getting to play with their dogs). She told us about how this was the beach she caught her first salmon ever, during her first fishing trip with her father as a teenager. I had to literally pick up R’s jaw off the floor when she referred to her 40 pound catch as small.

On the way home from each one of our trips, R and I like to mull over our top 3s:  top 3 moments, top 3 tastes, top 3 sights, etc.  It’s not for any particular reason, other than to pay homage and appreciate our luck.  Well, this beach on the northernmost coast of Oregon, was my favourite piece of coast, and as you will see as I blog about our journey south, it met with some tough competition.

Which just goest to show you that it’s about how something makes you feel, and not how it looks, that matters most.

Happy adventuring!  If you would like to see more of our travel photos, follow me on instagram at @dede_wanders.

Leave a Reply

